Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Here comes the Day-2 of the “The Hippie Girl Two Weeks of Happiness Challenge”. In conversation with Madhu, we realized how stressful we made our lives, that it was no longer easy to find the happiness quotient of the day. Breaking down the day into 24 hours and 1440 minutes, Madhu carefully analyzed her day, and seemed to be quite excited about one thing she came across everyday which un-adulted her.

“You know what makes me happier than playing cricket Annie, watching people play cricket.” she said. This lady always has something in surprise for me. I was eagerly waiting where was she headed towards. I remember she had once mentioned about a playground near her home and how people flocked there everyday not just to play cricket but for various pursuits. She loves to watch the gully cricket happen there. Everyday when she passes by the playground, the little kid in her jumps with joy to witness the tiny moments in the lives of the many people there. Even if for a few moments when she observes them, she is over joyed to be a part of their lives.

“How beautiful is it to watch those love birds walk by the pavement, holding hands and not missing a glare into each others eyes. This park makes them fall in love with each other every single day. If only it could, the park would some day tell their beautiful love stories of them falling in love and growing old in each others arms.”, she blushed. “You know what Annie, once in a lifetime we should all give love a chance. Immerse in love and be washed away. It’s totally worth it” she said. This time, I blushed. The best thing about Madhu is, conversations with her are funny yet quite deep.

She also told me there were the middle-aged women, who came to jog along with their friends. Reducing weight or getting fit may not have been the reason, but what really brought happiness to their lives was probably gossiping, gossipping about their in-laws probably or their new sarees which they managed get a discount on or how one of them managed to cheat-code a breakfast by making parathas out of the last night’s remaining curry. They talked, they laughed and they giggled and they let go of all their worries.

And of course, she also mentioned about the kids playing on the swings, playing with one another, eye-spies, hide-n-seek, and various other self- customized games with their own rule book. They would fall, get bruised and again get back to their toes and run. That wouldn’t stop them or lower their enthusiasms in any ways. I promptly saw the bruise marks on my knee that reminded me of my childhood games and how wild and free I was that no bruise, no cut and no burn stopped me from reaching to what I wanted. And of-course how could I not mention about the fire-in-blood , young cricket lads. They seem to take their matches as seriously as the India- Pakistan cricket matches.

A child’s mind and an old soul is what it takes to gain wisdom. She mentioned about the retirees’ group, in their ripened ages seemed to have been energetic than anyone else in the park. The future sure scares us, but every age has its own charm and delight. They talked about politics, society, family  and some did yoga and just sat calm. The best part was to watch them go through the laughter therapy. Random and loud laughter, I so wish I could be a part of that group.

We are all made up of stories. This park was one such book of short stories, re-written

everyday. “The park throws a spell on me every morning when I dread to go to office. I am automatically smiling when I board my cab.” she said. “This park is just another tiny part of those  little moments which  help me get through my day.”

Happiness task Day 2 – Growing to be a child

Status: Completed

